All I Want Is A Normal Life

Musings from a girl named Normal.

People know more obscure Cracker songs than I do

leave a comment »

Tomorrow is the beginning of the Cracker / Camper Van Beethoven Campout!!! Believe it or not, I’m more excited for this weekend than I was for The Burning Man. Cracker is my favorite band (if I have one, which I’m not sure I do, but if I did it would sure be Cracker) and I’m so fucking excited to see them live that I’m even driving out the two hours tomorrow night to catch the acoustic set and then driving back to come to work on Friday morning.

Pictured at the right is “O Cracker, Where Art Thou?,” which is still my absolute favorite Cracker album. I know, I know… purists will say that joint albums do not count in “favorite Cracker albums,” but those purists can go to heck. It was the album that first got me into Cracker (being a bluegrass fan first, alt-country fan second) and taught me the tight-but-loose, complex-yet-simple sounds of Cracker. Plus, it’s bluegrass. Plus, it’s got a reference to a tasty snack (Cracker and Leftover Salmon).

I checked out the diskography and it’s not even listed there! What a travesty! And I wasn’t sure if I even really qualified as a true Cracker fan until I noticed that yes, I do have all the songs, and yes, even some of the bonus tracks (thank you, Gabriel, wherever you are).

Arlette set up a wedding registry for me at her work, so Dave Lowery and I are going to be happy to receive all your gifts as soon as we announce the wedding. *cough* Or just give me gifts.

Written by normalslife

September 11, 2008 at 4:43 am

Leave a Reply

