All I Want Is A Normal Life

Musings from a girl named Normal.

What is “normal”?

with 6 comments

On this eve of the first of the new year, I get to opportunistically reflect on the things I have, the things I want, and my purpose in life. I’ve always wanted to be “normal” and have a “normal life” (though most people I know would laugh if they heard me saying that, since my life bears little resemblance to the boring slog that most people think of when they hear “normal” — something I think of more as “quiet desperation”).

Ever since I was a little kid, I didn’t fit in. I looked like a boy until I was 9 and had to get into the habit of asking for the “ladies’ room” because service staff always directed me to the men’s room. I was too tall. I had no friends. Kids made fun of me. I wouldn’t wear a “training” bra and ended up needing a real bra earlier than anyone else I knew. Boys would dare each other to ask me out and then run away laughing. I got picked last in any athletic event I was forced to participate in. “Normal” seemed like this unattainable golden state that everyone else existed in… so when I got to pick my name, I decided that, by hook or by crook, I was going to be normal.

And that’s how I got to be “Normal.” And it really fits me, I think, since I have a regular job that I go to every day at roughly the same time. I have fairly un-exceptional thoughts on a day-to-day basis. I’m not very fashionable, but I’m also not notably unfashionable. I have hobbies like normal people: hiking, camping, hanging out with friends, blogging, photography. Yes, some of my hobbies are un-normal: collecting taxidermy, listening to Cracker all the time, modeling for unconventional photos (right), camping in the desert and applying spark to combustibles.

One thing I think I want to look into for the new year is what really *is* “normal life.” I want it… but do I? And what is it to other people? So I’ve set up a Google alert and will set out to figure out what a normal life is. Wish me luck.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Normal/average have always seemed so arbitrary to me. Uniqueness is normal, which is a concept that I struggle with. Good luck with your search.

    bitnp

    December 31, 2008 at 7:46 pm

  2. Good luck although I think normal is setting one’s sights low and that the so-called normal are stranger than the rest of us.

    anniegirl1138

    December 31, 2008 at 8:09 pm

  3. I agree with Anniegirl. You are a unique person who always has something interesting to say. And anyway there were many of us who didn’t “fit in” I can relate to much of the same problems growing up (well, I didn’t have to wear a training bra..)

    A Happy New Year to U…

    Nick Caputo

    January 2, 2009 at 1:31 am

  4. Just getting to look at my blog again after the new year. Huge hugs to you, Nick, and a nice swig of Champagne!

    My brother, Splat, sent me some initial captures of a photoshoot I did at our cabin vacation, so I’ll post those later tonight. πŸ™‚

    I still owe you a card and an email, but I have to say, it’s more likely you’ll get a card because I’m feeling much more postal these days.

    normalslife

    January 7, 2009 at 2:21 am

  5. The phrase “I’m feeling much more postal” evokes the image of you going on a bloody massacre, although I’m sure you didn’t mean it that way (I hope!) πŸ™‚

    nick caputo

    January 7, 2009 at 4:03 pm

  6. um. right. no. of course not. bloody massacre? never.

    normalslife

    January 7, 2009 at 6:02 pm


Leave a Reply

